Q's Car Review Blog

Hi car addicts. Check out my blogspot on the latest cars, investing in cars and some of the cars I have driven or owned. Give us your comments: carcritic@iburst.co.za


After reviewing what vehicle best suites your needs be sure to consider auto insurance quotes. They are a great informational tool 

Ferrari Crash - write off ...

posted May 27, 2010, 10:23 AM by Stefan Buss   [ updated May 27, 2010, 12:19 PM ]

Check this out for a real damaged car ....
 

Ferrari Crash Picture

See more pictures of a Ferrari Crash and the quote for the damages

 

Wheels to the floor - the African way ...

posted Apr 29, 2010, 11:13 AM by Stefan Buss   [ updated Apr 30, 2010, 10:07 AM ]

Just when you thought that you had seen it all with cars in Africa, there comes a man who has re-invented the run flat concept specifically for African conditions. This tyre can do 100,000km, it's spare requires a quarter of the space that a normal tyre requires and can be fitted into a shopping packet.
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Why Woman are better in car pictures ?

posted Apr 8, 2010, 10:42 AM by Quentin Ballard Tremeer   [ updated Apr 30, 2010, 10:05 AM by Stefan Buss ]

 

 
 
 
 RSS Link      Add Q's Car Review Updates to Google Reader or iGoogle   Bookmark and Share
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
For  more Car Jokes

SCC Ultimate Aero - THE fastest car in the World!

posted Mar 24, 2010, 11:49 AM by Quentin Ballard Tremeer   [ updated Mar 28, 2010, 8:52 AM ]

It's common knowledge that the fastest production car in the world is the Bugatti Veyron, clocking a recorded 407km/h. However it actually isn't.

 
 
 
 
The SSC Ultimate Aero is the fastest car in the world: 0-100km/h in 2.7secs and a top speed of 411.2 km/h. This relatively unknown car pushes out a sublime 1183 hp.

0-100km/h the Bugatti Veyron remains king, but on top speed and quarter mile the Aero reigns supreme.

If you however are looking for a hyper car that can go round corners better than a hippopotamus then Pagani Zonda F Roadster, Noble M600, Koenigsegg CCX, Caterham R500, Ascari A10 and Gumpert Apollo kick the Bugatti Veyron’s butt. Our intrepid friends Jeremy Clarkson, James May and Richard Hammond have not managed to get their hands on an Aero yet and put the Stig behind the wheel.

However check out the Top Gear lap times here.

In fact the fastest production car ever made is the Barabus TKR (2008) - 0-100 in 1.67 secs, 435km/h from 1005 hp.
 
 
 
 RSS Link      Add Q's Car Review Updates to Google Reader or iGoogle   Bookmark and Share
 
 
 

Top Gear Humorous Quotes

posted Mar 1, 2010, 11:03 PM by Quentin Ballard Tremeer

Some more funny quotes from our favourite television car show presenters Jeremy Clarkson, James May and Richard Hammond
 
On the Alfa Romeo Brera... "I only have to imagine this in black, with tan
leather and I'm nursing a semi!"
 
Illustrating the lack of power of a Boxster - 'It couldn't pull a greased
stick out of a pig's bottom'
 
On the Vauxhall Vectra VXR: "there is a word to describe this car: it
begins with "s" and ends with "t" and its not "soot".
 
Hammond :"So its fairly terrible then?" Clarkson :"Oh no...losing your leg
is fairly terrible.....this is another league of badness!"
 
"Some say, that he used to throw microwave ovens at homeless people.....and
that he long before anyone else realised that Jade Goody was a racist pig
faced waste of blood and organs............ all we know, is that he's
called the Stig!"
 
"the Suzuki Wagon R should be avoided like unprotected sex with an
Ethiopian transvestite"
 
"Speed has never killed anyone......its suddenly becoming stationary...
That's what gets you."

Exotic Cars Being launched in South Africa in the near future

posted Feb 16, 2010, 10:13 PM by Quentin Ballard Tremeer

So, you just bribed a government official and won R140mil worth of tender and a C63AMG is no longer good enough.
Why not consider one of these.
 
Tough choice for me between the McLaren, Merc SLS and Ferrari 458.
I am sure you will be happier long term in the SLS and that the McLaren will drive the best.
 
Let me know if you need my help in choosing one. For a small fee I will go with you to the dealerships and help you make a sound choice.
 
 
 
 
 

Bentley Muslanne

 – or was that Musalini????Jokes aside. What a large piece of crap. Now available in RSA mid 2010 Twin turbo 6.75litre V8. 377kW. 1020Nm. Eight speed automatic transmission.
 
 
 

Mercedes SLS AMG to RSA second quarter of 2010. See our review of the SLS AMG

 

Mid 2010 a new Porsche Cayenne. Refereshed 911 Turbo arrived end of last year. New Porsche GT3RS arriving in Feb.
 
  
 
 
 RSS Link      Add Q's Car Review Updates to Google Reader or iGoogle   Bookmark and Share
 
 

Red Ferrari 458

 

Ferrari 458 Italia 

. Orders placed. Deliveries in first half of 2010 to RSA. Spyder to follow end of year and hardcore Scuderia 12 months after.
You don’t want to be a south African car journalist, they can’t get their hands on Ferraris. Cmon guys put on a Breitling and drive your latest test Porsche into the Ferrari dealership.....
New Lotus Evora

 

Lotus Evora

 
Grand tourer. Here in Feb. Lotus re-entering F1. New Esprit supercar coming.
 
 
 
Maclaren MP4 12C
 

McLaren MP4-12C

 
RSA in October. Daytona in Sandton will be the local agent
 

 

 

Top Car Insurance

Review of Top Gear Live Show Johannesburg

posted Feb 11, 2010, 10:00 PM by Quentin Ballard Tremeer   [ updated Mar 28, 2010, 8:41 AM ]

 

For those of you who have gone to MPH before (now branded as Top Gear Live), don’t bother to go again. QsCarReview watched in Johannesburg on Sunday 08th Feb (14h00). Our car friends who have been before say half the stunts and tricks are the same as previous shows. Our friend W went to the later show (17h00) and said that Jeremy pulled the same trick with a girl in the audience (camera down her top) as he did in our show.

 

The following scenes were played:

  • Girl twirling fire and setting Subaru rear seat on fire and Subaru driving around on fire while girl carries on twirling fire (fire dancer)
  • Three a side car soccer (won by Sasha Martinengo)
  • Challenge - Race between Garden implements converted into a car
  • Cage of Death – four Frenchman with a death wish drive small off road motorbikes round and spherical cage.
  • The Stig -  goes head to head against four “Gladiators” in cars and drives and shoots them off the road with rocket launchers attached to his car THEN does the loop – the – loop in his car.
  • 1,2,3 and then 4 Bikes in a Cage Stunt
  • Audience computer game car race using colour and sound.
  • Parade of super cars (Jeremy, James and Sasha each choose a car)
  • Cool wall

 

4 Bikes in a Cage Stunt   Cage of Death   Car Soccer   Ferrari California - MPH Top Gear Live Show  Top Gear Live Challenge 
 
 
Top Gear Live Show Stage   The Stig Battle 
 

 CAGE OF DEATH - Top Gear Live Show 

 There is no way “the Stig” was going fast enough to make the loop the loop. There has to have been something mechanical hooking the car and pulling it from the vertical position to the other side of the loop.

 

I am surprised Jeremy Clarkson and James May were not assassinated before he left the country, making all those tasteless jokes about the city, the President and the government and “hitting on women in the audience” (we believe it is staged as he does it at the same point in the stadium in each show). How much did you pay that modelling agency to place those girls in that seat Jeremy? What is the likely hood of an attractive girl sitting on the isle in that part of the stadium for every show and putting up with his rubbish. The rubbish that they try to pull off is just so moronic. They should really just stick to driving cars like lunatics around tracks and showing us how good or bad they are.

Who cares about the Stig doing battle with other cars.

 

The super cars where so boring I nearly fell asleep, if it wasn’t for the pain in my backside from the hardest chair that I had ever sat on and the forward angle of the seat that meant that I had to keep pushing myself back in my chair every two minutes (and I’m not the heaviest guy) I would have been sound asleep.

 

The only part that really was worth while was an opportunity to get close to a few super cars in the display area afterwards. However, the only way to get close to the Ferrari California was to have boobs and a short skirt and not actually have (or ever have) the money or the passion to buy one...... go figure.

 

Verdict. Buy two of their DVD’s for the same price or put the money towards a driving experience and visit your local sports car dealers more regularly, it will be time and money better spent.

 

Come back soon to see our pics and reviews of the Farrari California Spyder and other super cars we drooled over.
 

Tags: Top Gear, Top Gear Live Show - South Africa Review, The Stig Battle, Car Stunts, Top Gear Car Shows, Jeremy Clarkson, James May

  

 RSS Link      Add Q's Car Review Updates to Google Reader or iGoogle   Bookmark and Share
 
 
 
Other Top Gear Reviews including news about the Stig

BMW models to be launched this year

posted Feb 4, 2010, 3:55 AM by Quentin Ballard Tremeer   [ updated Mar 18, 2010, 11:04 PM ]

BMW car models being launched in South Africa in the near future:

 

If you have more than R500k burning a hole in your back pocket, check out these upcoming releases from BMW.

 
New BMW 5 Series GT - Grand Turismo
 
BMW 5 Series GT (Gran Turismo). 535d. 535i. 550i. Starting at R720k (you would have seen the adverts on the television already). This is a car that makes no sense to me.
Makes no sense as it is not a station wagon, nor an SUV nor a mid size sedan. It has the boot of an SUV, not high enough ground clearance and not quite SUV upright seating position. It costs as much as a very nice X5, that doesn't have any of those draw backs..... so why anybody would choose it over an X5.......... beats me.
                                                            
 
 
 
New 2010 BMW X3
 
New BMW X3 (Due September 2010).

 

My suggestion, if you have this kind of money, buring a hole in your pocket and you are yearning for a new shape BMW, buy a one year old BMW X5 3.0sd
 
 
 
 RSS Link      Add Q's Car Review Updates to Google Reader or iGoogle   Bookmark and Share
 
 
New BMW 5 Series 535d
 

The all new BMW 5 Series (May 2010) – 535d (September 2010).

 

High performance BMW Z4 (Due mid 2010).

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
If you want the BEST service and price you will ever get at a BMW dealership in Johannesburg, phone Corrado Cousins at Cedar Isle BMW. 079 715 3376 OR 011 367 1600
I am not making money out of referring you to him. He simply is the best car salesman I have EVER dealt with. On one occassion he drove me 35km to work when his bosses refused to let their driver take me. On another he leant me his own car for two days when the dealership gave me a long story about no more courtesy cars. This, all before he knew I had a website with a readership. Tell him Quentin sent you.
 

Tags: NewW BMW X3, 2010 BMW X3, BMW 5 GT, BMW 5 Series GT, BMW Grand Turismo, New BMW 535d, 2010 BMW 5 Series, BMW Car Pictures

 

Latest Audi models for release this year

posted Feb 4, 2010, 3:53 AM by Quentin Ballard Tremeer   [ updated Feb 23, 2010, 9:46 AM ]

Audi car models being launched in South Africa in the near future:

 

In case any of you are not effected by recession and are prepared to pay the price increases the car manufacturers marketing and sales departments are putting through:

 
 
New Audi TT RS - white
 
Audi TT RS (First Quarter 2010 – already seen one – looks just that little bit cooler)
 
 
 
New Audi A1 Sportsback
 
Audi A1 – (Mid 2011)
 
 
 
 
New Audi S5 Sport back
  

Audi S5 Sportback (Second quarter 2010), Audi RS5 (Third quarter)

 
 
 
 
Brown Audi R8 Syder
 

Audi R8 Spyder – (end 2010)

 
 
 
 
New Audi A7
 

Audi A7  (2011)

 
 
 
 
2011 Audi A8
 
Audi A8 (Second half 2011) - a friend of a friend says you buy a car like this if you have kids with long legs who keep trying to kick you in the back
 
 
For more Audi Cars check out our Audi Section
 

BMW X5 M and BMW X6 M

posted Feb 1, 2010, 9:16 PM by Quentin Ballard Tremeer

 
So Beyonce won 6 awards and Taylor Swift won top prize. If there was a Grammy Awards for cars, these two would have walked away with all the prizes.

 

Now here are two SUV's, I would waste R1million on.

 

The new BMW X5 M and BMW X6 M
 
480kW.
0-100km/h in 4.7seconds.
680Nm.

 

Audi V12 Tdi owners eat your hat..................
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

1-10 of 95